University of The Free State Vista Campus

By | December 29, 2021

University of The Free State Logo

University of The Free State Vista Campus

University of The Free State Vista Campus, Vista University, South Africa was established in 198 by the apartheid government to ensure that urban black South Africans seeking tertiary education would be accommodated within the townships rather than on campuses reserved for other population groups.


Its campuses were based in Bloemfontein, Daveyton (East Rand), Mamelodi, Port Elizabeth, Sebokeng, Soweto and Welkom. The administrative head office and the Distance Education Campus were located in Pretoria.


In the late 1990s to early 2000s the Vista University and the University of Central Florida Consortium developed a mutually interactive program designed to:

1) Create a technologically based distance education program sensitive to local challenges, including the enhancement of Vista University’s Distance Education Campus Student Support Centres

2) Enhance the capacity of various programs, including the Sociology program and academic staff through appropriate education instruction models, curriculum development, media-based instruction and research agendas.


The university has since been closed; while student records were archived accordingly, but experienced some corruption in the process of the complex mergers. Its facilities and some members of the staff have been merged into other universities, including:

  • the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University,
  • the University of the Free State,
  • the University of Johannesburg,
  • the University of Pretoria,
  • the University of South Africa (VUDEC) and
  • the Vaal University of Technology.


University Of The Free State – Vista Campus

. Bloemfontein – Bloemfontein
Free State
051 505 1111
051 505 1205
People Are Reading:  University of The Free State Departments