University of The Free State Kimberley

By | December 29, 2021

University of The Free State Logo

University of The Free State Kimberley

University of The Free State Kimberley, The National Institute for Higher Education in the Northern Cape was launched with a great deal of excitement on 23 June 2003 by the then Minister of Education, Dr Kader Ashmal. The NIHE was established in order to address the need for higher education provision in the Northern Cape. The NIHE is the fruits of many years of intensive lobbying and hard work by our Provincial Government. It is with great pride that the Province can now boast of its own Institute for Higher Education. The Province is especially proud that it will be able to offer higher education to its people, address the skills and human resource shortage and improve the lives of its people. The former Amalgamated Perseverance and Phatsimang Colleges have been incorporated into the NIHE with the aim of transforming the Provinces’ education system to reflect and advance the hopes and aspirations of the people of the Northern Cape.
It is important to note that the choice of programmes for delivery in the Institute is informed by a deliberate processing of determining training needs in the Province. It is this approach that we believe will ensure that the Institute continues to offer programs that are relevant and respond to the needs of the Province.


CUT and the NIHE: NC signed a working agreement to collaborate on the implementation of the DHET policy on higher education provision in the Northern Cape Province. To consolidate this collaboration even further, negotiations were held in view of seeing all operations of this Centre incorporated in the NIHE: NC in 2010. The Vice-Chancellor is a member of the NIHE: NC Board.

People Are Reading:  University of The Free State Marketing Department

Programmes offered

Apply to CUT

Contact us

Ms Fransie Morey

Tel: +27 (0)53 836 5960 | Fax: +27 (0)53 861 2684 |E-mail:

Kimberley consulting hours:

Monday to Thursday:            08:00 – 13:00, 14:00 – 16:00

Friday                                          08:00 – 12:00